Last modified on 26 February 2013, at 03:57

Commons talk:Flickr images/reviewers/archive 8

Return to "Flickr images/reviewers/archive 8" page.

User:CeranthorEdit

I'm a highly active user over at en.wikipedia. While I'm not nearly as active here, I've got a pretty sound knowledge of image copyright and I think I could do some good here. Ceranthor 22:32, 24 October 2009 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Trusted user. Pmlineditor  12:50, 25 October 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Endorse - Sure, knows what he's doing. –Juliancolton | Talk 13:37, 25 October 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Supportblurpeace (talk) 20:29, 25 October 2009 (UTC)

Successful. PeterSymonds (talk) 23:42, 26 October 2009 (UTC)

User:XalDEdit

I often add images from Flickr, I've uploaded more than 600 files here and I have some flags here and in other projects (en.w, es.w, en.n, es.n, fr.n). I want to speed up the Flickr approval process of the pictures that I upload and the pictures that other users upload. Thanks, ~~×α£đ~~es 22:48, 30 October 2009 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support, OK. –Juliancolton | Talk 14:17, 31 October 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Yes --High Contrast (talk) 14:24, 31 October 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support 16000 edits in different wikis --Neozoon (talk) 16:35, 1 November 2009 (UTC)

✓OKJuliancolton | Talk 18:05, 1 November 2009 (UTC)

User:The WordsmithEdit

I have uploaded quite a few images here, but my main activity is on en.wikipedia. I know copyright policy, both there and here, and I know how to spot a potentially nonfree file. I believe that, if given the tool, I could help clear the backlog efficiently when it built up. The Wordsmith (talk) 16:49, 26 October 2009 (UTC)

Symbol oppose vote.svg OpposeSymbol neutral vote.svg Neutral Not enough images uploaded, recent image deleted for copyright vio. — raeky (talk | edits) 18:29, 26 October 2009 (UTC)
Plenty of edits at the English wikipedia, still have my reservations about a copyright vio deletion recently though, so neutral. — raeky (talk | edits) 18:34, 26 October 2009 (UTC)
That was due to my misunderstanding of what constitutes a derivative work. I was under the impression that a photo of a toy was not considered derivative. After that deletion, I went and read all the policies. I am now confident in my understanding of what is and is not allowed. The Wordsmith (talk) 20:24, 26 October 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose Under 50 edits since May 2009 on Commons is much too little. We need active people for file review. --High Contrast (talk) 21:18, 26 October 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support, trusted user. Flickrreview is no big deal. –Juliancolton | Talk 14:17, 31 October 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support - Trusted, has had two images uploaded deleted, one as a user request, the other as a copyvio. The copyvio one does not concern me as it was a derivative work issue which is an understandable mistake to make and there have been none since, it was also in July (over 3 months ago). I don't see lack of activity as a reason to oppose either, even if the user only reviews a few images a year, that saves someone else doing it, and there is no limit to the amount of users that can be a Flickr reviewer. Camaron · Christopher · talk 15:18, 31 October 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support He is trusted. Flickreview isn't something with which he can break the wiki. Pmlineditor  16:11, 31 October 2009 (UTC)
✓ Done; flickr reviewer status is not by any means a big deal, and considering the easy-come, easy-go nature of this right, it's appropriate to grant it here. –Juliancolton | Talk 20:09, 3 November 2009 (UTC)

User:TmEdit

I´am registered here since 29 of June of 2006, but been more active since February of 2008, and have 12730 edits and more than 4000 files uploaded, mostly from flickr, with few deleted.

They were:

1- 4 from Finish Armed Forces, witch i tough were free at the time
2- 10 photos of Summer Glau, that were free when i uploaded them, but flickr user changed the license between my upload and the review, that occurred several days later (flickreviewR was down at the time (see details here)
3- 1 photo (EmmyAwardsHeadquarters.jpg taken by Alan Light), i´ve a higher resolution, but had to be deleted as it showed a statue situated in the United States
4- One file of popemobile, marked as "All rights reserved" but that slipped and was uploaded but i quickly asked for its speedy deletion.
5- And finally one file still being discussed if it is deleted or not.

I´am fairly experienced about copyright laws, freedom of panorama and personality rights, and fairly experienced in sniffing (on flickr) bogus free files, and think that could contribute with my knowledge to the review of files uploaded from flickr, if given the tools, not marking, only, the ones were my knowledge is weak, and the files that i myself upload, leaven them to others review. Tm (talk) 07:18, 3 November 2009 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Well deserved.Mitch32(Want help? See here!) 12:06, 3 November 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support why not --Justass (talk) 14:01, 3 November 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support - Seen hundreds of his files while patrolling Category:Flickr review needed and have seen no real errors. –Juliancolton | Talk 14:12, 3 November 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support although I hope he does not reduce his flickr image upload activities --High Contrast (talk) 21:10, 3 November 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support - seems to know what he is doing

User:Fr33kmanEdit

I am very familiar with the requirements of commons when it comes to Flickr. I understand what licenses can and can not be used. I also understand that just because an image appears on Flickr under an acceptable license does not make it automatically okay, some people upload non-free images and relicense them under CC, for instance. I'd like to be much more active on commons and feel this is an area I can help out in. I believe my other activities on WMF sites show I've only got the best of interests at heart. fr33kman -s- 03:59, 6 November 2009 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support seems experienced enough. Although there doesn't seem to be much history in uploading photos to commons... — raeky (talk | edits) 05:17, 6 November 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg SupportJuliancolton | Talk 21:16, 6 November 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support. I would've wished to see more Commons activity and you "showing" that you know the licenses. You can do so by tagging copyright violations, participating in deletion requests, and uploading files (esp. from Flickr). However, I do trust you to take it slow and learn anything else from there. If you're unsure, be sure to ask! Good luck. Kanonkas // talk // e-mail // 21:27, 6 November 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Knows what he's doing. Pmlineditor  11:30, 7 November 2009 (UTC)
✓OKJuliancolton | Talk 01:24, 8 November 2009 (UTC)

User:BeaoEdit

I want to easily add images to biographical articles on Wikipedia. Beao 20:56, 5 November 2009 (UTC)

How would you handle this Flickr image if it were uploaded to the Commons and pending review? Эlcobbola talk 21:05, 5 November 2009 (UTC)
The wall would probably classify as a work of art, and therefore be copyrighted. I would reject the image. --Beao 15:21, 6 November 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support. Good contributions and activity. I think you have what it takes to be a good Flickr reviewer. I'm also enlightened by your response to Elcobobla's question above. Kanonkas // talk // e-mail // 21:30, 6 November 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support. I was concerned by the minimal activity in venues that would allow one to readily assess copyright knowledge, and by the phrasing of the request (being a Flickr reviewer in no way assists addition of images to articles on other projects). The contributions, however, are indeed good and the response is correct, albeit imprecise (note, for example, that CC-by images are also copyrighted, just freely so). Эlcobbola talk 22:14, 6 November 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support, net positive. –blurpeace (talk) 05:35, 8 November 2009 (UTC)
✓ Done. –Juliancolton | Talk 14:11, 8 November 2009 (UTC)

User:MahangaEdit

I've been active in getting select images (and videos) to Commons from Flickr. I'm fairly familiar with the process, including checking for appropriate licenses. I'm an administrator on the English Wikipedia. I'd like to help keep the category empty or as close to empty as possible. Regards, mahanga (talk) 16:37, 11 November 2009 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support — raeky (talk | edits) 20:24, 11 November 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support ok. –Juliancolton | Talk 20:29, 11 November 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support seems to know what he is doing --Neozoon (talk) 00:46, 12 November 2009 (UTC)
✓Done Pmlineditor  15:11, 13 November 2009 (UTC)

User:FaleEdit

I would like to become a flickr reviewer to help out more the commons comunity. I have some experience in patrolling image both here and on it.wiki (from where I come from). Fale (talk) 19:04, 15 November 2009 (UTC)

User:Lukas9950Edit

I want to be a flickr reviewer because i'm active in the german Dateiüberprüfung (something like the deletion requests here) and i'm sometimes moving images from de to commans or upload pictures from flickr. For transfers from de to commons i'm using the commonshelper. ~Lukas talk 12:42, 14 November 2009 (UTC)

  • Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose low user activity [1] --Justass (talk) 13:10, 14 November 2009 (UTC)
  • Comment He has over 5000 edits on the German wiki [2]. — raeky (talk | edits) 20:39, 14 November 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose Here on Commons User:Lukas9950 has made under 150 edits since 19 February 2009. That's very few. We need active users to do this job. --High Contrast (talk) 20:57, 14 November 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support - Has had a few of his uploads deleted as copyright violations such as File:Coj-duel1.jpg, and has nominated images for deletion as duplicates instead of using {{duplicate}}, both of which suggest that a little more experience of Commons is needed. However, for the first case the uploads did not appear to be obvious copyvio with an admin admitting he was not sure, so that can be overlooked, and the second case was a trivial mistake. I have never brought the activity argument on Flickr requests as stated previously - there is no limit to the amount of Flickr reviewers we can have, and if someone uses it once a year then it still saves someone else from doing it. Lukas9950 is as a whole qualified, and that is enough for me. Camaron · Christopher · talk 23:12, 14 November 2009 (UTC)

 Not done - Please come back once you have a bit more experience. –Juliancolton | Talk 17:08, 19 November 2009 (UTC)

User:JustassEdit

Hello, I would like to as for reviewer status. My main interest is in monitoring latests uploads, fighting possible copyright violence, wrong authorship claims. As for now when marking images with speedy in clear cases or DR in possible flickr washing I dont have rights to evaluate upload itself, so I am hoping that with reviewer status my work will be more effective. Besides all above, sometimes I help uploading per Commons:Batch uploading requests --Justass (talk) 15:59, 23 November 2009 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Seems to know what he is doing, working as a copyvio detective --Neozoon (talk) 08:56, 24 November 2009 (UTC)

✓Done Pmlineditor  11:13, 28 November 2009 (UTC)

User:TyreniusEdit

I've contributed to Commons since July 2006 with over 1,100 edits, a large number of them image uploads. I'm familiar with appropriate licences, which I have also dealt with on en:wiki, where I have been an admin since July 2006 with over 34,000 edits: see w:User:Tyrenius. I am aware of differing requirements for en:wiki and Commons usage. I am familiar with Flickr, from which I have used images; I have also not used images from it, which, although having the correct licence, do not appear to have that licence legitimately, i.e. I am on the lookout for false copyright claims. I have considered on more than one occasion applying for trusted user status, on the basis that anything I can contribute here will be less work for others. A case has arisen at Commons:Deletion requests/File:Saatchi Gallery County Hall photo by djrue.jpg, where I have asked to be trusted, so it seems right I should seek community response to this. Ty 02:13, 4 December 2009 (UTC)

Symbol support vote.svg Support I don't see any major problems with this uploader's work. That DR I filed was just to cover Commons collective hide if anyone had any objections....and no one has objected to it. Regards, --Leoboudv (talk) 03:18, 4 December 2009 (UTC)
Symbol support vote.svg Support seems to know what he/she is doing --Neozoon (talk) 23:40, 4 December 2009 (UTC)
Symbol support vote.svg Support - The better the experienced join our group.Mitch32(Want help? See here!) 02:30, 5 December 2009 (UTC)
Symbol support vote.svg Support Experienced user, will ably review licensing. -Nard the Bard 02:35, 5 December 2009 (UTC)

✓Done, amply experienced for the rights. –blurpeace (talk) 02:43, 5 December 2009 (UTC)

User:GatoclassEdit

I'd like to stand as a flickr reviewer. I'm an admin on en.wiki, and have been a wikipedian for about four years. I think I understand the Commons copyright conditions well enough to do this job, I quite often come across files that need reviewing, and it looks like a relatively simple way to help out here that would not detract too much from my other wiki-activities. Gatoclass (talk) 07:24, 12 December 2009 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support, OK. –Juliancolton | Talk 12:19, 12 December 2009 (UTC)
  • Pictogram voting question.svg Question How would you handle this Flickr image if it were uploaded to the Commons and pending review? --Justass (talk) 12:35, 12 December 2009 (UTC)
    To be perfectly honest, since the page is half in Dutch (or some other language I don't recognize) I'd be reluctant to approve it as I'm not entirely sure it might say something I might need to know. My gut feeling about it though, is that it would be okay to approve this image since it looks as if it's a photo taken by the uploader and his other photos indicate he does his own little photoshoots, and of course because the image has been uploaded under a licence approved here. Gatoclass (talk) 16:44, 12 December 2009 (UTC)
On second thoughts, given it's a photo of a sculpture, it might be considered a derivative work. I confess I'm not quite up to speed when it comes to works of art, and I'd probably need to brush up in that area before I started approving such photos. Gatoclass (talk) 16:56, 12 December 2009 (UTC)
Okay, yeah, it's a derivative work, so unless the work itself is out of copyright, we can't use it. Apologies for the momentary confusion, I've never needed to upload an image of a work of art before so I haven't had to check the appropriate guideline. Gatoclass (talk) 17:09, 12 December 2009 (UTC)
Photo is derivative of sculpture made by Marianne Houtkamp (still copyrighted). But sculpture is located in Netherlands where it's allowed to make derivatives of permanently located artworks and use them for any purpose. So this image is perfectly ok for Commons, actually it is already uploaded at File:Laren Marianne Houtkamp.jpg. You may want to read about freedom of panorama. And don't worry it wasn't an easy question -Justass (talk) 17:43, 12 December 2009 (UTC)
Yes, I can see, reading through the Freedom of Panorama page, that things can get quite complicated! I did realize when I made my previous post however, that the Netherlands was largely exempt, but since I wasn't absolutely sure that particular photo was of a Netherlands sculpture, I thought it best not to mention it :) Anyhow, it was a good question that brought my attention to these complications, and of course if I'm in any doubt I can always ask for assistance. Gatoclass (talk) 05:36, 13 December 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support with the hope that question above showed complexity of things, that must be taken into consideration --Justass (talk) 19:36, 12 December 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Is experienced and seems to have the basic knowledge, as well as knowing where he needs to investigate further. Ty 01:28, 13 December 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support reviewing pictures can be tricky, you have to deal with the rules per country :-) --Neozoon (talk) 01:41, 13 December 2009 (UTC)

✓Doneblurpeace (talk) 06:39, 13 December 2009 (UTC)

Mirko JungeEdit

Though my main emphasis is on getting the German Wikipedia up a notch, I am an active member of the Fotowerkstatt fixing mostly technical problem with uploaded images. I think that good pictures are vital for the acceptance of an encyclopeadia and thus would be delighted in helping to access the photographic treasure trove of Flickr. Mirko Junge (talk) 10:56, 17 December 2009 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support - After a review of contributions, I feel mostly comfortable in giving him the job. :D - Just might need a bit more in Flickr department :D.Mitch32(Want help? See here!) 11:57, 17 December 2009 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support - Also took a look at the contributions and it is a clear "thumbs up" and thanks for helping with the flickr review work --Neozoon (talk) 23:15, 17 December 2009 (UTC)

User:Legolas2186Edit

Hi my fellow editors at commons. I wish to be granted the tools to be a flickrreviewer because I have uploaded numerous images from flickr in the past and have a thorough knowledge of what license and tags apply. Hence I believe I can be of help to the community by reducing backlogs in flickr review and notifying admins of files which donot satisfy the flickr licensing criteria. -- Legolas from Mirkwood 10:25, 14 January 2010 (UTC)

  • Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose, I see your work have been improved and I appreciate your efforts to obtain permission for some photos of events we not yet have, but in question Im not sure if you are the best choice for reviewer. --Martin H. (talk) 11:29, 14 January 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose because this user was blocked by reason of uploading copyvios. --High Contrast (talk) 11:38, 18 January 2010 (UTC)

 Not done , per above consensus. Blurpeace 07:34, 24 January 2010 (UTC)

User:Techman224Edit

I want to start reviewing pictures from flickr to make sure they are free licenses like CC-BY, GFDL, and CC-BY-SA, and Public domain. I also want to make sure the pictures actually are free and are not taken from a unfree image. Thanks. Techman224Talk 02:30, 30 January 2010 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support per being trusted and active enough. –Juliancolton | Talk 03:23, 30 January 2010 (UTC)
  • ✓done Pmlineditor  11:48, 4 February 2010 (UTC)

User:ZooFariEdit

I think I know the general license policy of Commons, and that Category:Flickr images needing human review could use another hand. ZooFari 19:53, 7 February 2010 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Sure, trustworthy contributor. Blurpeace 22:29, 7 February 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support, trusted and knows policies –Juliancolton | Talk 22:38, 7 February 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Reliable user. --High Contrast (talk) 22:45, 7 February 2010 (UTC)

User:ireasEdit

Hi! Although my main project is the German Wikipedia, I’m often dealing with pictures here on Commons. So I’d like to help reviewing the flickr images. I think I do know the important things as I’m member of the Dateiüberprüfung on de. The license policy on Commons is known to me, too. Regards, Ireas talkdeen 07:36, 19 February 2010 (UTC)


✓Granted, no objections and trusted user from de.wp license checking team. -- ChrisiPK (Talk|Contribs) 13:37, 23 February 2010 (UTC)

User:KrinkleEdit

I'd like to become a Flickr-reviewer because I spend my time at Commons checking files and statusses and would like to help out at the Flickr-moves aswell. I often use Flickr as a resource for free usable images and upload them to Commons. The policices on licenses are known to me. Krinkletalk 01:03, 2 March 2010 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support, no issues. –Juliancolton | Talk 03:12, 2 March 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Good choice. Pmlineditor (t · c) 12:13, 3 March 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Good help is always needed. --High Contrast (talk) 15:12, 3 March 2010 (UTC)
✓ Done. –Juliancolton | Talk 02:17, 5 March 2010 (UTC)

User:FetchcommsEdit

Active on enwiki, including work at their files for upload area, and getting a bit more involved here.  fetchcomms 01:03, 2 April 2010 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Sure, definitely has enough experience; listens to me blabber on about copyright everyday in #wikipedia-en-afc. Blurpeace 01:20, 2 April 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support seems to know what he is doing --Justass (talk) 01:24, 2 April 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support. Some experience here, familiar with the wiki format and seems unlikely to deliberately misuse this right. –Juliancolton | Talk 12:54, 2 April 2010 (UTC)
    ✓Granted Pmlineditor discuss 08:04, 5 April 2010 (UTC)

User:Bsadowski1Edit

I have been uploading images from flickr that have the CC-BY and CC-BY-SA license and I would like to help review flickr uploads that require human attention. Bsadowski1 08:02, 5 April 2010 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Trusted, knows what he is doing. Pmlineditor discuss 08:03, 5 April 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Trusted and knowledgable. fr33kman -s- 09:42, 5 April 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Have worked with him on enwiki and have found him to be a trusted and clueful user.  fetchcomms 20:49, 5 April 2010 (UTC)
✓ DoneJuliancolton | Talk 14:07, 7 April 2010 (UTC)

User:GerakiEdit

I have already uploaded a small number of selected flickr images and I want to upload more, since I feel that flickr is a great source of images. I do have a good understanding of copyright and licensing issues, and I am able to understand copyrighted images tagged as "free". I'm a long time contributor and admin+buraucrat at el.wikipedia and el.wikisource. --Geraki TLG 16:34, 6 April 2010 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support - Trusted contributor at multiple wikis, fairly active at Commons. –Juliancolton | Talk 17:54, 6 April 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Definitely --High Contrast (talk) 20:03, 6 April 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Trustworthy on other projects = Trustworthy here.Mitch32(Want help? See here!) 22:23, 6 April 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support OTRS volunteer, crat/sysop elsewhere, no issues with this user here either.  fetchcomms 01:03, 7 April 2010 (UTC)

✓ Done Blurpeace 12:32, 10 April 2010 (UTC)

User:GaeserEdit

I usually search images on flickr, and if they are usefull and have license - I upload them. Also I know what CC is, and the difference between CC licenses. Also I am a rollbacker and editor of Ru wiki, was a temporary admin of ab wiki and ka wikis. :)Gaeser (talk) 17:47, 7 April 2010 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support - Trusted contributor, fairly active at Commons. Geagea (talk) 19:20, 7 April 2010 (UTC)
✓ Done; no objections in a couple weeks. –Juliancolton | Talk 13:55, 21 April 2010 (UTC)

User:ChzzEdit

Though mostly active on EN, I have a good understanding of copyright policies on Commons, and I'd like to help out.  Chzz  ►  09:11, 27 April 2010 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Trusted user and knows about CC licenses. Killiondude (talk) 18:46, 28 April 2010 (UTC)

✓ Done Blurpeace 22:07, 4 May 2010 (UTC)

User:DieBucheEdit

I have a solid knowledge of the different CC and GPL licenses and about 2000 edits on commons and 5000 globally. Besides commons I'm mainly active in the german wikipedia. --DieBuche (talk) 18:31, 30 April 2010 (UTC)

Symbol support vote.svg Support Knows what he's doing. ZooFari 01:56, 11 May 2010 (UTC)
Symbol support vote.svg Support--Justass (talk) 10:57, 13 May 2010 (UTC)

✓ Done Blurpeace 16:57, 13 May 2010 (UTC)

User:ElectronEdit

Here on Commons I mainly upload from Flickr. I know Commons licence politics and the difference between licences. I have more than 5500 edits here. Also I am an admin on Polish Wikisource, see -> here and I have a few thousand edits on Polish Wikipedia. Electron <Talk?> 10:28, 13 May 2010 (UTC)

Pictogram voting question.svg Question In the past you uploaded some images that were deleted as violation of Freedom of panorama and Derivative works, have you read and understood those policies, that not only Flickr license but also the subject matters? --Justass (talk) 11:13, 13 May 2010 (UTC)
Sure. It was in the past - during this time I learn much. Also some of these photos had questionable and unclear status and were going to stick with "De minimis" if we talking about FOP or it were the photos of costumes looks like from "Star Wars" and other films. It was before the discussion -> Commons:Deletion requests/Images of costumes tagged as copyvios by AnimeFan when we decided that costumes made by fans generally are utilitar things and they are alowed on commons and we made Template:Costume. After that I have no time and a will to please admins to undelete a big couple of them (many of them are going to stick with the costume template). Electron <Talk?> 12:06, 13 May 2010 (UTC)

✓ Done -Justass (talk) 11:37, 19 May 2010 (UTC)

User:McldEdit

I've got a pretty good track record over the past 3 years of uploading my own work or sourcing non-dubious nicely-licensed flickr items. See also my wikipedia track record. I have a relatively modest number of edits in commons, but a lot of experience in CC licensing. For example I led a successful project for the w:SuperCollider software documentation to transition from GPL to CC-BY-SA, including securing agreement from dozens of contributors for the transition. (See dev mailinglist discussion archive) I have also published scientific datasets under CC, with the agreement of the contributing parties, e.g. this multi-contributor annotated beatboxing data. Mcld (talk) 08:40, 25 April 2010 (UTC)

Anyone? I'm puzzled why the user below me is getting supports but I'm getting no comment at all! :( --Mcld (talk) 11:27, 19 May 2010 (UTC)
68 edits on commons & 10 in the File namespace on en.wiki is a bit low i think --DieBuche (talk) 11:32, 19 May 2010 (UTC)
Not just low, but *very* low OhanaUnitedTalk page 22:45, 22 May 2010 (UTC)

 Not done , given the amount of grace time, in addition to the above concerns, there is no consensus for approval. Blurpeace 02:37, 23 May 2010 (UTC)

User:deerstopEdit

Requesting permission to be a reviewer so that I could at least review my uploads. :) I often upload images from Flickr,and the flag would speed up the whole process. I also check several categories (i.e. "Anime" and "Manga") on regular basis, so I feel that Reviewer thing would be really useful. I am an experienced user in Wikipedia, I know the rules and copyright issues. -- deerstop. 17:21, 29 May 2010 (UTC)

Self-reviewing is not a good practice. Flickr image uploaders are prone to mistakes (such as using a wrong source link) that are better spotted if some else reviews your images. In general, however, I'd support you becoming a reviewer for Category:Flickr images needing human review. ZooFari 17:39, 29 May 2010 (UTC)
Do you mean Flinfo sometimes gets the links wrong? I had absolutely no idea about it. o_O It always worked fine for me. -- deerstop. 02:14, 30 May 2010 (UTC)
Well if you use Flinfo then the bot can continue to do it :). ZooFari 02:30, 30 May 2010 (UTC)
I'm just trying to suggest that you don't need to go through the hassle of reviewing images that the bot is capable of doing. Looking through your uploads, most, if not all, Flickr images you've uploaded were reviewed by the bot successfully because you use Flinfo. Users who crop or adjust images go to the main upload form manually (and as I said, they are capable of mistakes, reviewers see it often) and that's when human-reviewing kicks in. I support you becoming a reviewer regardless, but there's no real need if the purpose is for self-reviewing and not for backlog involvement. ZooFari 02:46, 30 May 2010 (UTC)
Well, of course, I intend to help with human reviews if I get the reviewer's flag. But I also hoped that an annoying bot will stop pestering me, flooding my watchlist with his edits. :) -- deerstop. 18:54, 30 May 2010 (UTC)
А почему вы не используете Flickr2Commons для загрузки изображений? Удобнейшая вещь (там нужно получить TUSC-аккаунт, но это очень быстро и требуется только один раз). Trycatch (talk) 19:25, 30 May 2010 (UTC)
Flinfo тcоже удобная программа, она хуже разве? -- deerstop. 20:02, 30 May 2010 (UTC)
С Flinfo приходится делать два лишних действия -- сохранять файл на диске, потом указывать путь в форме. Flickr2Commons же загружает файлы самостоятельно, в один клик. Trycatch (talk) 21:13, 30 May 2010 (UTC)

✓ Done ZooFari 00:24, 7 June 2010 (UTC)

User:AmadscientistEdit

In the last few years I have become more and familiar with Creative Commons licenses and the spirit of Wikimedia Commons to provide free or equivalent images for use with simple attribution. Over that time I have come to see the benifit of free images, art and other media made available for the general public while allowing the creator attribution rights. I believe in the inalienable rights of the artist in public domain which I believe to mean the right of original attribution is never waived with public domain and that no one has the right to falsely attempt to establish themselves as the originator of such images.

I have accounts at both Flickr and Picasa but upload all my CC or public domain releases straight to Wiki media Commons.

I firmly believe in consensus of the community and hope to become more envolved in adding quality images for use under the licenses Wikimedia accepts.. Amadscientist (talk) 07:57, 6 June 2010 (UTC)

  • Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose I'm afraid this and this shows you need to learn a bit more about acceptable Commons licenses, considering that the licenses in question are highly involved with Flickr. ZooFari 15:28, 6 June 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose [3] shows indeed that there is a lack of understanding the different valid licenses that can be used for the flickr transfer. This is the heart of the task to verify Flickr uploads. --Neozoon (talk) 20:59, 6 June 2010 (UTC)

Explain please, if it is appropriate here. Your links are merely illustartive of actions but give no context to why they prove a misunderstanding of CC, flicker review policy or accepted CC licenses at Wikimedia Commons. Thank you.--Amadscientist (talk) 23:21, 6 June 2010 (UTC)

Your actions show you misunderstand the license policy. Plus, all Flickr images under Creative Commons are based on CC-2.0 licenses, if your analysis were to be correct, I don't see why you would be interested. ZooFari 23:39, 6 June 2010 (UTC)

 Not done , unsuccessful per above consensus. Blurpeace 02:39, 9 June 2010 (UTC)

User:Rodrigo.ArgentonEdit

(Archived from Commons talk:Picasa Web Albums files/reviewers - Note Picasa --MGA73 (talk) 08:47, 10 June 2010 (UTC))
I am a Flickr reviewer, I would like to extend my position checker for Picasa. Rodrigo Tetsuo Argenton (talk) 12:34, 13 February 2010 (UTC)

Hi Rodrigo - I've decided to say that all approved Flickr reviewers are automatically Picasa Web Albums reviewers as well. I've marked over 1500 images with my bot that require review, so welcome and thank you! Please do not review any of the images in Category:Images by Volker Prasuhn or with a {{change-of-license}} tag - I'm arranging OTRS permission for these. Thanks! Dcoetzee (talk) 06:34, 16 February 2010 (UTC)
Okay, you need help with this category? For I am also OTRS volunteer. Rodrigo Tetsuo Argenton (talk) 16:17, 16 February 2010 (UTC)
I've just submitted the OTRS permission for that category, and I'm right now marking all the files in this category {{OTRS-pending}} and as {{picasareviewunnecessary}} (and updating the source to be a bit more accurate). No rush on getting this permission through, I'll just have my bot mark them OTRS verified once they are. Dcoetzee (talk) 20:09, 16 February 2010 (UTC)

Approved for Flickr per Commons_talk:Flickr_images/reviewers/archive_7#User:Rodrigo.Argenton. You may also review for Picasa. Thank you for helping out. --MGA73 (talk) 08:39, 10 June 2010 (UTC)

User:NillerdkEdit

(Archived from Commons talk:Picasa Web Albums files/reviewers - Note Picasa --MGA73 (talk) 08:47, 10 June 2010 (UTC))
It would be useful for me to become an reviewer. I'm not admin anywhere, but I have been entrusted as an OTRS-agent for English, German and Danish queues. I do have a sufficient knowledge of license policy on Commons.Nillerdk (talk) 14:56, 21 March 2010 (UTC)


✓ Done You are now a reviewer. Your name is added to Commons:Flickr_images/reviewers/list. As a reviewer you can review Flickr, Picasa and Panoramio. Thank you for helping out. --MGA73 (talk) 08:36, 10 June 2010 (UTC)

User:Diego GrezEdit

I would like to help out reviewing Flickr pictures. I want to be as useful as possible :). It will be fun to do this. After all of this time around Commons, I have learned a lot about copyright and Flickr licenses. Thanks. Diego Grez return fire 03:26, 10 June 2010 (UTC)

I think it's a good next step for Diego and would endorse him becoming a Flickr reviewer. ZooFari 13:42, 10 June 2010 (UTC)
I see a few issues here. First, I believe that reviewers should be approachable on Commons about their actions on Commons. Your talk page currently discourages contact here and states that you will be unresponsive. Secondly, you were recently blocked for various abuses of editing privileges, in which copyright problems were a factor. As far as I can see, the three-month restriction which you agreed to for the block to be lifted is still in effect. Finally, you've recently had other privileges revoked after apparently misusing them. Taken as a whole, I feel compelled to Symbol oppose vote.svg oppose for now. LX (talk, contribs) 17:49, 10 June 2010 (UTC)
Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose, I don't trust Diego to handle requests concerning copyright at this time. Blurpeace 19:55, 10 June 2010 (UTC)
Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose The topic that LX brings up is a concern. --Neozoon (talk) 22:12, 11 June 2010 (UTC)
Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose I don't think he has the experience we need. -Nard the Bard 20:52, 12 June 2010 (UTC)
Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose see LX's comment. --High Contrast (talk) 21:05, 12 June 2010 (UTC)

 Not done per above consensus. ZooFari 15:03, 20 June 2010 (UTC)

User:JujutacularEdit

I have demonstrated a good knowledge of acceptable licenses for Commons, and would like to help out reviewing files. Jujutacular T · C 13:43, 11 June 2010 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support seems to know what (s)he is doing --Neozoon (talk) 22:22, 11 June 2010 (UTC)
    • "He" :) and thank you for the support. Jujutacular T · C 23:33, 11 June 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support trusted user. — raeky (talk | edits) 15:12, 19 June 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support --ZooFari 17:39, 19 June 2010 (UTC)

✓ Done. ZooFari 15:03, 20 June 2010 (UTC)

User:Joe Chill 2Edit

I made mistakes on my first account (the images were indeed in the public domain, but the images were incorrectly labeled on the sources) so I created this one which I only use for Commons. Despite my embarassing mistakes, I have made zero mistakes on this account. I have uploaded Flickr images myself which have all been approved by the Flickr review bot. On top of that, I am an experienced Wikipedia contributor that is an autoreviewer and a reviewer: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User:Joe_Chill. I'm annoyed by how many copyright violations including from Flickr are on Wikimedia Commons. Joe Chill 2 (talk) 18:51, 22 June 2010 (UTC)

What is the name of your old account? (Joe Chill (talk · contribs) seems to have only uploaded two files) –Juliancolton | Talk 19:30, 22 June 2010 (UTC)
That's it. I should have clarified it. One of the images was deleted by my request. Joe Chill 2 (talk) 19:31, 22 June 2010 (UTC)
Ah. I figured out the problem. I gave the image to Innotata to upload: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Gymnothorax_moringa_illustration.jpg. In that case, I didn't just embarrass myself. Joe Chill 2 (talk) 19:42, 22 June 2010 (UTC)

Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose Less than 50 edits and first edit on June 2nd, 2010 makes it impossible to evaluate the user's reliability. --High Contrast (talk) 19:41, 22 June 2010 (UTC)


 Not done [4] ZooFari 21:09, 22 June 2010 (UTC)

User:tb240904Edit

I believe I know enough about the different copyright licenses that can be used on commons to review flickr images. I noticed there is a backlog of images needing reviewed and I would like to help. I regularly edit on the English wikipedia and usually upload photos to commons rather than a specific project. I release all my work to the public domain or use creative commons licences when I need to so I know about the accepted flickr licenses. Tb240904 (talk) 12:10, 19 June 2010 (UTC)

  • Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose I'm afraid ~20 edits on Commons is a bit too low to judge your experience. ZooFari 17:39, 19 June 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol oppose vote.svg Oppose agree with ZooFari --Neozoon (talk) 21:56, 20 June 2010 (UTC)

✘ Not promoted.Kwj2772 (msg) 14:37, 23 June 2010 (UTC)

User:RockfangEdit

I would like to assist reviewing Flickr files on Commons. I've been a member of Commons since January 7, 2008. I've uploaded over 300 photos to Commons using various licenses. Some of those have been moved from the English Wikipedia, while some others have been from scans of old newspapers. I've even uploaded some images from Flickr myself.--Rockfang (talk) 07:05, 20 June 2010 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Rockfang is an experienced editor on en.wiki and commons and seems to know what he is doing. --Neozoon (talk) 22:06, 20 June 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Agree. ZooFari 04:17, 21 June 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Electron <Talk?> 23:19, 22 June 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg SupportGeagea (talk) 18:53, 23 June 2010 (UTC)
✓ DoneJuliancolton | Talk 17:14, 24 June 2010 (UTC)

User:JonathunderEdit

I have made over 1800 contributions on Commons in four years, including uploading many images. As a longstanding Flickr user also, I'm very familiar with that site. As an admin on en, I am familiar with free content policies. Jonathunder (talk) 22:24, 22 June 2010 (UTC)

Symbol support vote.svg Support I see no counterindications... Electron <Talk?> 23:13, 22 June 2010 (UTC)
Symbol support vote.svg Support trusted user. ZooFari 15:59, 23 June 2010 (UTC)
Symbol support vote.svg Endorse per ZF. –Juliancolton | Talk 17:57, 23 June 2010 (UTC)
Symbol support vote.svg SupportGeagea (talk) 18:53, 23 June 2010 (UTC)
Symbol support vote.svg Support thanks for helping us --Neozoon (talk) 19:19, 23 June 2010 (UTC)
Symbol support vote.svg Support--Gaeser (talk) 11:07, 24 June 2010 (UTC)

✓Promoted.Kwj2772 (msg) 14:26, 25 June 2010 (UTC)

User:TruuEdit

I never had problems with the images and licensing from flickr, I just want to contribute more in the Commons. Take a look at my contributions. Truu (talk) 01:42, 3 July 2010 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support I looked at his contributions, user only active since short time but did not find "mistakes" --Neozoon (talk) 23:13, 6 July 2010 (UTC)

Successful - Only one person took part in this request, despite this being a commonly viewed request page. No objections at all were raised, and I also reviewed the requestor's edits to ensure that nothing would cause me, personally, to oppose: I found nothing. Since the request has been up since 10 days and the minimum is 2, I feel if any objections were going to be raised, they would have. I looked and found no guideline or policy as to a minimum number of people supporting, so the user is promoted. fr33kman -s- 07:59, 13 July 2010 (UTC)

User:Hike395Edit

I search Flickr to find images to illustrate en articles that have no images. I almost always use Flickr2Commons, but it seems that it now requires manual review. I am more than happy to perform such manual review: I have been an active editor in en for 7 years, and in Commons since the beginning of Commons, so I am well-aware of and sensitive to the limitation of commons to free media. If it looks like there is any doubt about the free nature of an image, I do not upload it. You can see my contributions at Special:Contributions/Hike395 or with the Gallery tool. Thanks for your consideration. Hike395 (talk) 21:38, 5 July 2010 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support experienced user on commons and en.wiki --Neozoon (talk) 23:21, 6 July 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support Geagea (talk) 00:24, 7 July 2010 (UTC)

Successful fr33kman -s- 03:12, 13 July 2010 (UTC)

User:WikitanvirEdit

Currently I search Flickr for images with suitable license and upload it. Besides, if I able to convinced the author to publish a particular image under any suitable license, then I upload that image too. I have primarily worked on transferred free images here from various Wikimedia projects. I have almost 1000 edits here. I am reviewer and rollbacker in enwiki and a sysop in bnwikt. Thanks for your consideration. — Tanvir 16:18, 19 July 2010 (UTC)

  • Pictogram voting question.svg Question about the one of your recent uploads File:Woman In Boyshorts.jpg. It's tagged as CC-BY-SA-3.0 (image at flickr tagged as CC-BY-SA-2.0) and it lacks a flickrreview tag. Why? Trycatch (talk) 12:22, 20 July 2010 (UTC)
I added the license tag manually, because I missed it in the time of upload. The 3 instead of 2 was nothing but a mistake. I am aware of Flickr license, because I asked the author to release it under suitable license, as it was copyrighted before upload. And I missed the flickrreview tag because I was in a hurry, and didn't noticed. I know this type of mistakes are bold. Particularly in this time. BTW, I've corrected all those errors. — Tanvir 16:59, 20 July 2010 (UTC)
Ok, no problem. It's great that you are working on obtaining permissions for useful images. Trycatch (talk) 14:15, 21 July 2010 (UTC)
✓ Done - Tiptoety talk 17:00, 22 July 2010 (UTC)

User:TimeshifterEdit

I have over 14,000 edits on the Commons. I discussed some improvements awhile back to the wording of the Flickr upload page, and so I understand the acceptable licenses. There is a lot of work to do, and the more reviewers the better. --Timeshifter (talk) 06:57, 23 July 2010 (UTC)

Symbol support vote.svg Support Seems a risponsible user. Electron <Talk?> 07:55, 23 July 2010 (UTC)
Symbol support vote.svg Support Seems to be o.k. Geagea (talk) 16:36, 23 July 2010 (UTC)
Symbol support vote.svg Support — Tanvir 20:56, 23 July 2010 (UTC)
Symbol support vote.svg Support --Neozoon (talk) 12:13, 24 July 2010 (UTC)
✓ Done - Tiptoety talk 18:12, 24 July 2010 (UTC)

User:YasuEdit

As a longtime wikipedia user from Japan, I want more and more Japan-related images to be on wikipedia articles, in as many language versions as possible. And I believe that the files from flickr would help a lot; that's why I would like to help out as a reviewer myself. I have been taking part in a Wikimedia project since 2003, have made 3,000+ edits here, and have placed some DRs to date (like this and this). So I think I have enough knowledge on Commons license policy to handle such files. Thanks in advance. Yasu (talk) 14:56, 18 July 2010 (UTC)

Symbol support vote.svg Support I do not speak japanese, but his/her activities on commons have been constructive till. (I did not see many copyright related activities in the last time) --Neozoon (talk) 12:32, 24 July 2010 (UTC)
Symbol support vote.svg Support Agree with Neozoon. Geagea (talk) 18:18, 24 July 2010 (UTC)
✓ Promoted - Tiptoety talk 19:42, 25 July 2010 (UTC)

User:Rubin16Edit

I'm familiar with licensing and can help with image reviewing. I am sysop in ru.wiki and OTRS-agent Rubin16 (talk) 18:34, 28 July 2010 (UTC)

Fully Symbol support vote.svg agree. A reliable, clever, responsible user. Quite familiar with licenses. --George M. (talk) 19:50, 28 July 2010 (UTC)
✓ Promoted - Tiptoety talk 09:29, 30 July 2010 (UTC)

User:TrycatchEdit

I want to help with license review. I have some experience on Commons (>1 year, ~2500 edits) and a reasonable good understanding of the licensing and flickr image import issues -- flickrwashing, flickrvio, low resolution import, problems with FOP/DW, personality rights, etc. Trycatch (talk) 18:50, 1 August 2010 (UTC)

Is it necessary to ask:)? Of course Symbol strong support vote.svg Strong support.--George M. (talk) 19:03, 1 August 2010 (UTC)
Symbol support vote.svg Support Geagea (talk) 13:27, 3 August 2010 (UTC)

User:FastilyEdit

As an administrator on en.wikipedia, media copyright/licensing is my area of expertise. I would love to offer all the help I can to the Wikimedia Commons, whose scope is more closely related to the field in which I most frequently work. -FASTILY (TALK) 08:10, 13 August 2010 (UTC)

Symbol support vote.svg Support. Should be trusted to deal with Flickr uploads. Geagea (talk) 14:26, 13 August 2010 (UTC)
Symbol support vote.svg Support of course. Trycatch (talk) 14:29, 13 August 2010 (UTC)

✓Promoted.Kwj2772 (msg) 22:53, 15 August 2010 (UTC)

User:DnikitinEdit

I sometimes import images from flickr and from picasa. I would like to be license reviewer. Dnikitin (talk) 19:34, 15 August 2010 (UTC)

  • Symbol support vote.svg Support nothing against.--George M. (talk) 08:57, 16 August 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support trusted user. But it's better not to review your own uploads. Trycatch (talk) 00:00, 17 August 2010 (UTC)

User:SaiboEdit

I like to help when I see an unreviewed image - like it happened today when I was in #wikimedia-commons. I have good knowledge of licenses and upload flickr images from time to time by myself using flick2commons. Just some days ago I helped in redesigning the CC templates at de.wikipedia. Cheers --Saibo (Δ) 16:08, 28 August 2010 (UTC)

Some questions -
can you please find (and upload) one phot from flickr and one from picasa?
Can we use this file on commons?--George M. (talk) 16:29, 28 August 2010 (UTC)
Hi George. I do not use picasa and will not review picasa files. So I will only review flickr files.
Here you are - some new ones especially for you :-)
We cannot use this file on commons since it is licensed CC-by-nc/2.0/. Non commercial licenses are not allowed on Commons. Additionally the photographers location must be accessible by the public (here: currently unknown) if the building is a work of art (here it is) and the architect's date of death is youngermust be older than 70 years (here: unknown). However, there is no need to check the FOP parameters since the photograph's nc license is not allowed under our policy of free content here.
Cheers --Saibo (Δ) 18:06, 28 August 2010 (UTC) corrected writing error at FOP. --Saibo (Δ) 19:37, 28 August 2010 (UTC)
Perfect - Symbol support vote.svg Support.--George M. (talk) 18:46, 28 August 2010 (UTC)
P.S. Try not to forget about the thank you notice - it's some sort of thank's to the user, and annotation for him that we use his file :)--George M. (talk) 18:49, 28 August 2010 (UTC)
Oh, there's also a template for this - great. I think I will create a flickr account for this purpose. --Saibo (Δ) 19:37, 28 August 2010 (UTC)
Symbol support vote.svg Support. Geagea (talk) 19:04, 28 August 2010 (UTC)

MikemoralEdit

I have a good knowledge of copyright law and I occasionally upload from Flickr. I am a sysop on en.wikikinews. Mikemoral♪♫ 19:15, 28 August 2010 (UTC)

  • Although a great picture, we cannot due to its license: CC-BY-NC-ND, it is too restrictive for use on Commons. Mikemoral♪♫ 19:43, 28 August 2010 (UTC)
  • I have uploaded File:Perry, Justus of Keene NH.jpg from Flickr. I do not normally use Picasa, nor am I familiar with it. Mikemoral♪♫ 19:50, 28 August 2010 (UTC)
  • Good answers, Symbol support vote.svg Support then.--George M. (talk) 21:07, 28 August 2010 (UTC)
  • Symbol support vote.svg Support. Geagea (talk) 20:08, 29 August 2010 (UTC)
    Done. --Dferg (talk · meta) 18:57, 30 August 2010 (UTC)

staffwaterboyEdit

I feel that many images can be used for fair use under Creative Commons and i feel i have a enough know knowledge of copyright laws. . Staffwaterboy (talk) 22:52, 31 August 2010 (UTC)

 Not done You only have ~20 edits and some of them demonstrate you should gain some more experience with Commons. You probably are not aware of the actual purpose of this page so I would give it some time before filing another request. In the meantime, you can take a look at the community portal and participate in other administrative areas so that you can learn more about this project. Thanks for you help, ZooFari 23:07, 31 August 2010 (UTC)

Acather96Edit

Comments
    • I have some questions, it will be wonderful if you answer them.
      • can we upload any of these photoes on commons?
  • 1?
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5?

Thank's for answers.--George M. (talk) 10:30, 3 September 2010 (UTC)

  • Image One: No, CC-BY-NC-ND is not OK. Disallows derivative and commercial use.
  • Image Two: No CC-BY-NC is not OK. Disallows commercial use.
  • Image Three: No, CC-BY-NC-SA is not OK. Disallows commercial use.
  • Image Four Yes, CC-BY is OK
  • Image Five Yes, CC-BY-SA is OK

Acather96 (talk) 11:53, 3 September 2010 (UTC)

Symbol support vote.svg Support. Nice work :)--George M. (talk) 12:52, 3 September 2010 (UTC)

Promoted. --Dferg (talk · meta) 15:29, 5 September 2010 (UTC)