File:Kingscote, Bellevue Avenue and Bowery Street, Newport, Newport County, RI HABS RI,3-NEWP,61- (sheet 1 of 6).tif

Original file(9,626 × 7,616 pixels, file size: 495 KB, MIME type: image/tiff)

Captions

Captions

Add a one-line explanation of what this file represents

Summary edit

HABS RI,3-NEWP,61- (sheet 1 of 6) - Kingscote, Bellevue Avenue and Bowery Street, Newport, Newport County, RI
Title
HABS RI,3-NEWP,61- (sheet 1 of 6) - Kingscote, Bellevue Avenue and Bowery Street, Newport, Newport County, RI
Description
Upjohn, Richard; Mason, George Champlin, Jr; White, Stanford; Newton, Dudley; Preservation Society of Newport County
Depicted place Rhode Island; Newport County; Newport
Date Documentation compiled after 1933
Dimensions 19 x 24 in. (B size)
Current location
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division Washington, D.C. 20540 USA http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.pnp/pp.print
Accession number
HABS RI,3-NEWP,61- (sheet 1 of 6)
Credit line
This file comes from the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) or Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS). These are programs of the National Park Service established for the purpose of documenting historic places. Records consist of measured drawings, archival photographs, and written reports.

This tag does not indicate the copyright status of the attached work. A normal copyright tag is still required. See Commons:Licensing.

Notes
  • Significance: This house was begun in 1839 for George Jones of Savannah. It was acquired in 1863 by William King who named it Kingscote, and the house remains in the King family. The original Gothic revival house was designed by Richard Upjohn, and the dining room addition of 1880-1881, one of the finest rooms of the period, was designed by Stanford White.
  • Unprocessed Field note material exists for this structure: FN-51
  • Survey number: HABS RI-307
  • Building/structure dates: 1839-1841 Initial Construction
  • Building/structure dates: 1876 Subsequent Work
  • Building/structure dates: 1880 Subsequent Work
  • Building/structure dates: 1893 Subsequent Work
References

This is an image of a place or building that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places in the United States of America. Its reference number is 73000058.

Source https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/ri0060.sheet.00001a
Permission
(Reusing this file)
Public domain This image or media file contains material based on a work of a National Park Service employee, created as part of that person's official duties. As a work of the U.S. federal government, such work is in the public domain in the United States. See the NPS website and NPS copyright policy for more information.
Object location41° 29′ 24″ N, 71° 18′ 47.98″ W Kartographer map based on OpenStreetMap.View this and other nearby images on: OpenStreetMapinfo

File history

Click on a date/time to view the file as it appeared at that time.

Date/TimeThumbnailDimensionsUserComment
current17:04, 1 August 2014Thumbnail for version as of 17:04, 1 August 20149,626 × 7,616 (495 KB) (talk | contribs)GWToolset: Creating mediafile for Fæ. HABS 31 July 2014 (3000:3200)

Metadata