User:Malcolm Schosha

Panorama of the Kangchenjunga massif, from Tiger Hill, Darjeeling.

A few units of information about me:

  • I am a professional artist living in Brooklyn, NY.
  • I am 71 years old.
  • I have been married 49 years.
  • I have lived in many parts of the USA, from north to south and east to west, as well as in Italy (Florence) for seven years, and in Israel for three years.
  • I am a member of the working class ("the class of people who are engaged in manual labor, or are dependent upon it for support").
  • Most of the education I have is self-education -- aside from technical training in various aspects of the visual arts, and in some crafts -- in which I have many years of professional training in non-academic settings.
  • I have an ongoing interest in Stoic philosophy as an ethical way of life.

What I have done on Wikimedia CommonsEdit

The uploads I made to Commons were all for the purpose of improving the new image galleries, and the new categories, I created here.

The image galleries I created includeEdit

  1. Knots in traditional art [1] This was by far my biggest project on Commons. It is not as complete as I intended, but is probably the most complete resource on the topic that can be found on the web.
  2. Armenian tile makers and potters in Israel [2] This could probably be moved, as is, to make a new Wikipedia article.
  3. The sculpture of Bali [3]
  4. Islamic tiles[4]
  5. V. Ganapati Sthapati [5]
  6. Plaster carvings in Islamic cultures [6]
  7. Art sponsored by the Works Progress Administration [7]
  8. Geometry in the visual arts [8]
  9. Sacred geometry [9]
  10. Jewish papercuts [10]
  11. Wandjina [11]
  12. The Alhambra, Owen Jones [12]

The categories I created includeEdit

  1. Category:Cadel letters [13]
  2. Category:Hebrew calligraphy [14]
  3. Category:Mizrah [15]
  4. Category:Shiviti [16]