Open main menu

License reviewer script takeoverEdit

For those of you that use Rillke's license review script, due to Rillke being effectively retired I have taken over the maintenance of that script. I have ported it over to User:Majora/LicenseReview.js and have added functionality for reviewing images in Category:Finna review needed and Category:Unreviewed photos of GODL-India. Eventually I will also clean up the script to remove obsolete Panoramio and add other functionality. Any other suggestions are welcome as I go through the script and see what's there is to work with. In addition, those that have the Rillke import in their personal .js file may want to update to have this added functionality. --Majora (talk) 04:19, 19 June 2018 (UTC)

@Majora: Could you please advise me how I may make the script work with my Monobook skin? I cannot find the needed functions for reviewing and I do not see what's wrong here... Regards, Grand-Duc (talk) 18:55, 9 January 2019 (UTC)
@Grand-Duc: I just switched over to Monobook and it is working for me. The tabs should be along the top and say license + and license -. Plus for pass, minus for negative. Do you not see those? --Majora (talk) 22:37, 10 January 2019 (UTC)
@Majora: Yes, that's exactly the issue. I do not have any review tabs in Monobook. Of course, I cleared the browser cache (Ctrl+Shift+R) several times... Regards, Grand-Duc (talk) 16:16, 11 January 2019 (UTC)
@Grand-Duc: What browser are you using and what operating system? Can you take a screenshot of what you see please and upload it? I may need you to find your javascript console in whatever browser you are using too to see if there are any errors popping up. --Majora (talk) 21:25, 11 January 2019 (UTC)
Actually I think I figured it out. Deleted everything in User:Grand-Duc/common.js. You have two different LR scripts trying to do the same thing and that installation method for VFC was depreciated a long time ago and is known to cause problems. You can reinstall VFC via your gadgets tab in your preferences. --Majora (talk) 22:20, 11 January 2019 (UTC)
@Majora: Thanks a lot, your advice helped in solving my issue. :-) The script works now. Regards, Grand-Duc (talk) 20:17, 12 January 2019 (UTC)

How to review a self-uploaded video?Edit

I have a problem understanding what to do with File:2018 super typhoon Mangkhut in Shenzhen 16.ogv. All the things point to it being a valid licence. It's a self upload, but how do I review it? After all there is no source that I can go to in order to check that the licence is correct except the page itself. Do I leave the field for the source blank? Do I simply remove the {{LicenseReview}}? How should I approach this? ℺ Gone Postal ( ) 05:09, 29 October 2018 (UTC)

You remove the LicenseReview tag, unfortunately. "License reviewing is a necessary process for files from Flickr, Picasa, Panoramio, YouTube and other external websites that provide images under different licenses." So if this file isn't from an external website, we can't review the license. We're not a magic bullet, we just look to confirm that, yes, the site the file came from said it was licensed this way (with some exceptions if we have reason to doubt the site's say-so, see COM:QFI, for example). But if there isn't a site for us to review, we can't do anything as license reviewers. If you looked at the file and thought it wasn't a self-created video you could nominate it for deletion, but since you seem to believe it is, there isn't anything for you to do, just leave the file. If there is something not obvious that you worry about someone else missing, you could add text to the file description ("see at 4:37, where the creator says 'I'm releasing this under Creative Commons Share-Alike'" or something), but otherwise, just remove the tag, leave it uploaded, and go on with the next file. --GRuban (talk) 17:19, 30 October 2018 (UTC)

Take snapshots of the source when transferring files?Edit

One commonly cited problem is that there is no way to verify that an image was ever free if the author later changes the license. However, this can probably be solved by taking a snapshot of the original photo page upon transferring the file. I imagine it wouldn't be too hard to modify Flickr2Commons et al. to create a snapshot using archive.today or WebCite. Thoughts? Ixfd64 (talk) 05:38, 13 February 2019 (UTC)

I believe this has been brought up a few times before at the Village Pumps, Ixfd64. Especially with the recent purges of Flickr and other file hosting sites. I would support such a thing. --Majora (talk) 21:33, 13 February 2019 (UTC)
Return to the project page "License review".