Open main menu

InstallationEdit

DelReqHandler is a tool for Admins which admins can enable at

Preferences > Gadgets > Tools for authorized users.

Tested on Firefox, Safari and Chrome. Internet Explorer is not supported.

UseEdit

On deletion request pages (current, monthly, weekly, daily, individual), the script adds a couple of links:

  • Closing a DR: [Close: Kept] and [Close: Deleted] links next to the section edit link for section 1 for each (transcluded) deletion request: clicking these will prompt for the reason, then adds {{Delh}} and {{Delf}} plus the commentary "Kept." or "Deleted." plus the reason plus your signature to the deletion request. The reason cannot be blank, but a period (.) is enough.
  • Deleting/keeping images mentioned in a DR: [del] and [keep] links next to each image link mentioned on a deletion request. Clicking "del" will delete the image with a deletion summary pointing to the deletion request. It'll also delete the image talk page, if there is one. Clicking [keep] automatically modifies the image description page and removes the {{Delete}} tag. It also automatically adds {{Kept}} with the correct date and a link back to the deletion request to the image talk page.

You can do multiple actions (closing different requests/deleting or keeping multiple images) at the same time without problems.

Closing a DREdit

DelReqHandler takes care of the housekeeping when closing a Deletion Request:

In the case of a Delete:
Deletes the file
Allows you to enter a comment on the file deletion (by default this is a link to the DR)
Allows you to enter a closing comment at the end of the DR (by default this is Deleted and your sig)
Adds {{Delh}} and {{Delf}} to the DR
In the case of a Keep:
Removes the {{Delete}} from the file
Adds {{Kept}} to the file talk page
Allows you to enter a comment on the file keep (by default this is a link to the DR)
Allows you to enter a closing comment at the end of the DR (by default this is Kept and your sig).
Adds {{Delh}} and {{Delf}} to the DR

In both cases, it shows you a preliminary look at the result. Because it uses the API, there are no page loads, so you can work just as fast as you can click on the links with one hand and hit 'Enter' to accept the default message with the other, allowing you to very rapidly work through the list in a mass delete. It does have some quirks, particularly when there are two sections in the DR, but you will rapidly learn these.