File:A history of Hampshire and the Isle of Wight (1900) (14770829694).jpg

Original file(1,866 × 1,400 pixels, file size: 344 KB, MIME type: image/jpeg)

Captions

Captions

Add a one-line explanation of what this file represents

Summary

edit
Description
English:

Identifier: historyofhampshi04doub (find matches)
Title: A history of Hampshire and the Isle of Wight
Year: 1900 (1900s)
Authors: Doubleday, Herbert Arthur, 1867-1941
Subjects: Natural history
Publisher: Westminster (Constable)
Contributing Library: Robarts - University of Toronto
Digitizing Sponsor: University of Toronto

View Book Page: Book Viewer
About This Book: Catalog Entry
View All Images: All Images From Book
Click here to view book online to see this illustration in context in a browseable online version of this book.

Text Appearing Before Image:
ortunately bepretty closely dated on this account. The break inthe wall between the two easternmost windows on thenorth shows the junction of the older work with theeast bay of the chapel. This chapel was not parochial,but belonged in turn to the Templars and Hospitallers,passing finally to St. Crosss Hospital, which still hasrights over it. On the outer face of the east bay of the north wallthere is a four-centred recess with a double ogee edgemoulding, and within it an altar tomb with amoulded slab and plinth and the remains of origin-ally three square traceried panels set diagonally andcontaining shields. The end of the 15th century orbeginning of the 16th is the date of the work, and atthe back there is a large rectangular stone withremains of a black letter inscription at the top, therest being defaced by a number of deeply scraped ovalgrooves, as if for the sharpening of knives. It islocally known as the miracle stone, and said to have 574 Ford in gb ridge Church, frcm the North
Text Appearing After Image:
Fording bridge Church : The Nave looking East FORDINGBRIDGE HUNDRED been scraped away for its curative powers, a customwhich obtains in Egypt with regard to the ancienttemples at the present day, but no satisfactory proofseems now obtainable. At the south-east of the chapel is a trefoiled piscinarecess of 13th-century date with a filleted rollstopped on the sill, which is moulded and slightlyprojects, and seems to have formed part of a string-course. The open timber roof over this chapel is a par-ticularly beautiful one of early 15th-century date, infour bays, with arched braces below the tie-beams,tied to the wall about midway by hammer-beams,and cusped on the under side. The spandrelsbetween them and the tie-beams are filled withpierced tracery, and between the tie-beams and theprincipal rafters the space is filled with tall cinque-foiled tracery. On the ends of the hammer-beamsare figures holding shields and other devices, such asa crown and a mitre, and at the crown of the archesf

Note About Images

Please note that these images are extracted from scanned page images that may have been digitally enhanced for readability - coloration and appearance of these illustrations may not perfectly resemble the original work.
Date
Source

https://www.flickr.com/photos/internetarchivebookimages/14770829694/

Author Internet Archive Book Images
Permission
(Reusing this file)
At the time of upload, the image license was automatically confirmed using the Flickr API. For more information see Flickr API detail.
Volume
InfoField
4
Flickr tags
InfoField
  • bookid:historyofhampshi04doub
  • bookyear:1900
  • bookdecade:1900
  • bookcentury:1900
  • bookauthor:Doubleday__Herbert_Arthur__1867_1941
  • booksubject:Natural_history
  • bookpublisher:Westminster__Constable_
  • bookcontributor:Robarts___University_of_Toronto
  • booksponsor:University_of_Toronto
  • bookleafnumber:760
  • bookcollection:robarts
  • bookcollection:toronto
  • BHL Collection
Flickr posted date
InfoField
29 July 2014


Licensing

edit
This image was taken from Flickr's The Commons. The uploading organization may have various reasons for determining that no known copyright restrictions exist, such as:
  1. The copyright is in the public domain because it has expired;
  2. The copyright was injected into the public domain for other reasons, such as failure to adhere to required formalities or conditions;
  3. The institution owns the copyright but is not interested in exercising control; or
  4. The institution has legal rights sufficient to authorize others to use the work without restrictions.

More information can be found at https://flickr.com/commons/usage/.


Please add additional copyright tags to this image if more specific information about copyright status can be determined. See Commons:Licensing for more information.
This image was originally posted to Flickr by Internet Archive Book Images at https://flickr.com/photos/126377022@N07/14770829694. It was reviewed on 1 November 2015 by FlickreviewR and was confirmed to be licensed under the terms of the No known copyright restrictions.

1 November 2015

File history

Click on a date/time to view the file as it appeared at that time.

Date/TimeThumbnailDimensionsUserComment
current17:58, 1 November 2015Thumbnail for version as of 17:58, 1 November 20151,866 × 1,400 (344 KB) (talk | contribs)== {{int:filedesc}} == {{information |description={{en|1=<br> '''Identifier''': historyofhampshi04doub ([https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?title=Special%3ASearch&profile=default&fulltext=Search&search=insource%3A%2Fhistoryofhampshi04doub%2F fin...

There are no pages that use this file.